MEETING STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL

FOR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION

(SACRE)

AGREED SYLLABUS CONFERENCE

DATE Monday, 19th September, 2016

4.00 pm

VENUE **COMMITTEE ROOM 1 - CIVIC CENTRE**

ENQUIRIES ALISON PHILPOTT

Email: Alison.philpott@southampton.gov.uk

MEMBERS SEE ATTACHED LIST

AGENDA

1. WELCOME, APOLOGIES AND CHANGES OF MEMBERSHIP

To receive any apologies and changes to membership.

- 2. STATEMENT FROM THE CHAIR AND OPENING ADDRESS
- 3. <u>DECLARATION OF INTERESTS</u>
- 4. PRESENTATION OF THE REVISED SYLLABUS
- 5. DISCUSSION ON PROPOSALS
- 6. DECISION FOR MOVING FORWARD
- 7. CHAIR'S CLOSING COMMENTS



STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR RELIGIOUS EDUCATION MEMBERSHIP

GROUP A

Christian Denominations*

(* Religions and other bodies listed in the SACRE Constitution)

The Roman Catholic Church Ruth Cunio

The Baptists Chris Davis (Southampton City Mission)

The Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) VACANCY
The Greek Orthodox Church VACANCY

The Fellowship of Independent Evangelical

Churches

Margaret Blake

The Methodist Church VACANCY

The United Reformed Church Susanne Dawson

The Assemblies of God Neil Maddock

The Salvation Army VACANCY

Other Religions

Religions other than Christianity (as listed in the SACRE Constitution) – Baha'i, Buddhism, Judaism, Hinduism, Islam, Sikhism = 6

Baha'i Elizabeth Jenkerson

Buddhist David Vane
Hindu Priti Dave
Jewish Dr Gil Dekel
Muslim Anas Al-Korj

Sikh Harmeet Singh Brar

GROUP B

(Four representatives of the Church of England)

The Church of England

Rev Duncan Jennings Allan King

From diocesan education team:

Sam Jordan Richard Wharton

GROUP C

(Six teachers representing associations recognised by the Authority for the purposes of consultation and negotiation)

National Union of Teachers (NUT)

Jackie Meering

The National Association of Schoolmasters/

Union of Women Teachers (NASUWT)

David Parrott

Voice

Dr R Palmer

(ATL)

Association of School and College Leaders VACANCY

(ASCL)

National Association of Headteachers VACANCY

(NAHT)

GROUP D

(4+substitute) - Four representatives of Southampton City Council, at least two of whom shall be elected members of the City Council)

Councillor James Baillie

Councillor John Jordan

Councillor Valerie Laurent

Councillor Warwick Payne

GROUP D SUBSTITUTE Mrs. Kate Martin

OTHERS (Non-voting)

CO-OPTED MEMBERS

South Hampshire Humanists Mary Wallbank (first meeting 25 January '16)

OBSERVER

ASC Group

Claire Belli (Springwell Special School)

Suzanne Underwood (Bitterne Park Secondary School)

Susanna Woodman (Sholing Infants School)